International Society of Primerus Law Firms
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Liability for Criminal Acts of Employees

July 28, 2011 @ 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

Event Navigation

The Primerus Defense Institute Premises Liability Practice Group Presents:

Liability for Criminal Acts of Employees

Thursday, July 28, 2011 at 11:00 a.m. PDT/ 2:00 p.m. EDT/ 7:00 p.m. BST


As employers in the hospitality/entertainment/retail sector, your employees not only have opportunities to interact with the public but are required to do so.  In a perfect world, your employees are polite, professional and serve as ambassadors to the public.  In the real world, despite best efforts, employees sometimes choose to act in intentional or even criminal ways that cause harm to fellow employees or customers.  These types of events have the potential to create catastrophic damages.  When that happens, the employer as well as the employee are often brought into civil litigation.  This webinar will address the various theories of liability that may be used to hold an employer responsible for the intentional, criminal acts of its employees.  These include negligent hiring, supervision and retention.  It will also address issues of best practices that employers, their insurers and risk managers will want to consider in this context.  Although litigation cannot be avoided altogether these best practices may help to reduce litigation and will certainly place employers in the best position to defend in those cases where litigation is instituted.


Carrie E. Meigs
Teague Campbell Dennis & Forham, LLP
Raleigh, NC
Read Carrie’s Bio