International Society of Primerus Law Firms

Home > Binghamton Trusts and Estates Lawyer

Binghamton Trusts and Estates Lawyer

Zachary D. Morahan
Zachary D. Morahan
zmorahan@cglawoffices.com

Gary B. Kline
Gary B. Kline
gkline@cglawoffices.com

Gordon E. Thompson
Gordon E. Thompson
gthompson@cglawoffices.com

Jonathan O. Albanese, Of Counsel
Jonathan O. Albanese, Of Counsel
jalbanese@cglawoffices.com

Richard W. Mertens, Of Counsel
Richard W. Mertens, Of Counsel
rmertens@cglawoffices.com

Susan L. English
Susan L. English
senglish@cglawoffices.com

Robert J. Madigan, Jr.
Robert J. Madigan, Jr.
rmadigan@cglawoffices.com

Mark L. Rappaport, Of Counsel
Mark L. Rappaport, Of Counsel
mrappaport@cglawoffices.com

Irene  Graven, Of Counsel
Irene Graven, Of Counsel
igraven@cglawoffices.com

Meiying Z. Austin
Meiying Z. Austin
maustin@cglawoffices.com

Kristen K Luce
Kristen K Luce
kluce@cglawoffices.com

Robert R. Jones
Robert R. Jones
rjones@cglawoffices.com

Beth E. Westfall
Beth E. Westfall
bwestfall@cglawoffices.com

Nancy E. Kline, Of Counsel
Nancy E. Kline, Of Counsel
nkline@cglawoffices.com

Joy A. Blumkin, Of Counsel
Joy A. Blumkin, Of Counsel
jblumkin@cglawoffices.com

James N. Cahill, Of Counsel
James N. Cahill, Of Counsel
jcahill@cglawoffices.com

Keegan  Coughlin
Keegan Coughlin
kcoughlin@cglawoffices.com

Wilbur "Bud" D. Dahlgren, Of Counsel
Wilbur "Bud" D. Dahlgren, Of Counsel
wdahlgren@cglawoffices.com

Paul F. Eaton, Of Counsel
Paul F. Eaton, Of Counsel
peaton@cglawoffices.com

Marcie  Finlay, Of Counsel
Marcie Finlay, Of Counsel
mfinlay@cglawoffices.com

Rhonda M. Pasto
Rhonda M. Pasto
rpasto@cglawoffices.com

Michael C. Perehinec, Jr.
Michael C. Perehinec, Jr.
mperehinec@cglawoffices.com

Mark E. Smith
Mark E. Smith
msmith@cglawoffices.com

Alexandra C. Davis
Alexandra C. Davis
adavis@cglawoffices.com

Coughlin & Gerhart, LLP

99 Corporate Drive
Binghamton, NY 13904
United States

Consult with a Proven Binghamton Trusts and Estates Lawyer

The proven Binghamton estate lawyers at Coughlin & Gerhart, LLP are experienced in the effective resolution of estate lawsuits and claims as related to family estates and trusts. Binghamton estate attorneys are knowledgeable in all areas of general estate law, including but not limited to instances of estate bankruptcy, living trusts and retirement planning in Binghamton, New York.

The Binghamton trusts and estates attorneys have experience representing clients with matters involving:

  • Binghamton Decedents Estate Lawyer
  • Binghamton Estate Bankruptcy Lawyer
  • Binghamton Estate Lawyer
  • Binghamton Estate Planning Lawyer
  • Binghamton Family Trusts Lawyer
  • Binghamton Living Trusts Lawyer
  • Binghamton Powers of Attorney Lawyer
  • Binghamton Retirement Planning Lawyer
  • Binghamton Special Needs Trusts Lawyer
  • Binghamton Trust Lawyer
  • Binghamton Unclaimed Property Lawyer
  • Binghamton Wealth Planning Lawyer

Experienced Binghamton Trust Attorney

Trusts are estate-planning tools that can replace or supplement wills; as well as help manage property during life. A trust manages the distribution of a person’s property by transferring its benefits and obligations to different people. There are many reasons to create a trust, making this property distribution technique a popular choice for many people when creating an estate plan.

The basics of trust creation are fairly simple. To create a trust, the property owner (called the “trustor,” “grantor,” or “settlor”) transfers legal ownership to a person or institution (called the “trustee”) to manage that property for the benefit of another person (called the “beneficiary”). The trustee often receives compensation for his or her management role. Trusts create a “fiduciary” relationship running from the trustee to the beneficiary, meaning that the trustee must act solely in the best interests of the beneficiary when dealing with the trust property. If a trustee does not live up to this duty, then the trustee is legally accountable to the beneficiary for any damage to his or her interests. The grantor may act as the trustee himself or herself, and retain ownership instead of transferring the property, but he or she still must act in a fiduciary capacity. A grantor may also name him or herself as one of the beneficiaries of the trust. In any trust arrangement, however, the trust cannot become effective until the grantor transfers the property to the trustee.

An experienced Binghamton estate lawyer is professional and knowledgeable in understanding the details, facts, complications, and circumstances that arise in a trusts and estates case.

Trusted Binghamton Estate Law Firm

The Binghamton estate attorneys at Coughlin & Gerhart, LLP are distinguished by a history of successful estate claim recoveries and resolutions. For experienced representation in an estate dispute or if you need help with estate planning, contact the Binghamton estate lawyers at Coughlin & Gerhart, LLP in New York.

Coughlin & Gerhart, LLP

99 Corporate Drive
Binghamton, NY 13904
United States

Contact This Firm

Coughlin & Gerhart, LLP

99 Corporate Drive
Binghamton, NY 13904
United States

Law Firm Contact: James P. O'Brien

Tel: 607.821.2202

Fax: 607.723.1530

Email: jobrien@cglawoffices.com

Website: www.cglawoffices.com

Member Since: 2001

Send Us An Email






Preferred Contact Method?

 Email Phone - AM Phone - PM

Disclaimer: Primerus and our member law firms welcome your emails, contact forms, phone calls and written letters. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to Primerus or its member law firms until an attorney-client relationship has been established. Thank you and we look forward to serving you.

* Denotes Required Field